Crown Golf Partners

Golf Forums - £20 to use TSG worth it or not?

2 Pages 12>
£20 to use TSG worth it or not? Options
#1 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2011 6:32:42 PM
Handicap: 28
Kent

I have just seen the email regarding being charged £20 to use the TSG site.
Now I have been using it for free for about 3 years, but recently there have not been many good games going on so I have only popped on to read the occasional forum etc.

I know that the Virtual golf society was abandoned in favour of TSG a couple of years ago.  That was mainly because they charged & the site was not as good as this one (in my opinion)

I fully understand that the site operators would want to make something for their aquisition of TSG, but perhaps there could be (as was suggested about a year ago) credits that could be earned by posting games, course reviews etc.

The number of games & the forum postings have declined recently so perhaps TSG should be looking at getting us more involved, rather than introducing a fee, that may just scare off existing members in the financially challenging time?
#2 Posted : Monday, March 28, 2011 7:32:05 PM
Kent

Ah, the proverbial catch 22 - everybody recognises there is a cost to providing, maintaining and operating a website but no-one wants to pay for an internet service because we've all come to correlate 'Internet' with 'Free'!

For my two penneth worth I'd say - As long as the quality is maintained, I'd be happy with a nominal charge because then I'd know that all games which were posted (including mine) were only open to people who had actually paid to be a member of the community (it's a truism that even time wasters who are time wasters by nature won't pay to be a time waster...).

So, although the three month deferral is a bit stingy (I've been a member for two years, perhaps I should get 6 months deferral?), I'm generally happy with the proposal and I would join.