Golf Forums - query on the rules

query on the rules Options
#1 Posted : Monday, November 17, 2008 7:36:00 AM
Carol Bellis
Carol Bellis profile picture
Handicap: 36
Kent

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 76

Playing recently in a competition, I played an unsuccessful wedge shot over a line of trees running partly across the width of the fairway. On the off chance that we might not find my ball amongst those trees, I then played a provisional shot from the same position, this time landing on the green. We did find my ball lying up against a tree trunk, and I opted to declare it unplayable. I then said that I would like to take the option of playing it as far back as I wished (enabling it to clear the trees). My opponent said that I was not allowed to do this, and would have to play it within 2 clubs length of its current position. I have since found out that I COULD have played it further back - the question is - could I have then said that I would continue to use the provisional ball that I had already played?

#2 Posted : Monday, November 17, 2008 8:13:00 AM
TSG
TSG profile picture
Handicap: 36
Kent

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,955

Hi - In the case of a dispute during a game if all else fails you should play two balls (or in your case three balls) for that hole. One from the point your opponent thinks is correct and the other from where you think you are intitled to play from.  Dispute should then be referred to the Club Pro for an official discussion on the matter. It is more difficult in match play as it could affect the whole game - however you as player have the right to challenge the view of your opponent. 

#3 Posted : Monday, November 17, 2008 7:15:00 PM
TSG
TSG profile picture
Handicap: 36
Kent

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,955

Hi Carol,

With regard your query you are correct, one option would have been keeping the place where you found the ball directly between you and the pin back as far as you wished but having found your ball the provisional is no longer an option. Another option would have been to go back and play the shot again.

regards

Steve

 

 

#4 Posted : Monday, November 17, 2008 9:45:00 PM
Carol Bellis
Carol Bellis profile picture
Handicap: 36
Kent

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 76

Thanks for the replies - I shall know for next time - but now I've got another query that came up only today! Under winter rules, you can clean and place the ball on the fairway (within the 6 inches, no nearer the hole). Now - can this 6 inches include the semi-rough/rough? ie if the ball is on the edge of the fairway, and it is advantageous to replace it onto the semi-rough (because this is within the allowable distance) can you do it??

#5 Posted : Tuesday, November 18, 2008 2:22:00 PM
TSG
TSG profile picture
Handicap: 36
Kent

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,955

You can not place in rough on winter rules.

The ruling is on close cut grass - placing it in the rough alters this therefore a 2 shot penalty.

Cheers

#6 Posted : Tuesday, November 18, 2008 8:05:00 PM
TSG
TSG profile picture
Handicap: 36
Kent

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,955

Hi,

Thats interesting as we play it differently/wrongly. If as Carol says the ball is on the fairway but within the alloted measurement and that hits the first cut we place it there if we wish. As i do to be able to get a better lie for my 5 wood. We take the understanding thats if the original place of the ball allowed a pick and place then you can place it where you like within the  limits as mentioned. Along the lines of if you take a free drop from a staked tree which is in the rough but a clubs length gets you on the fairway. The rub of the green??

Regards

Steve

 

#7 Posted : Wednesday, November 19, 2008 6:44:00 PM
Carol Bellis
Carol Bellis profile picture
Handicap: 36
Kent

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 76

Thank you all for the advice - from now on I'll just ask Steve.

He's giving me the answers I want!

#8 Posted : Saturday, December 13, 2008 7:20:00 PM
Russell Middlet...
Russell Middleton profile picture
Handicap: 36
Essex

Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 387

Hi Carol,

Here is how I understand the rules of golf for your two questions.

You, and only you can declare a ball to be unplayable, even if all your playing partners say it's playable!  It's totally down to you to call it.

Once you find your ball, the provisional ball is no longer an option.

You then have three choices to make -

1) You play the ball from where it is (no penalty)

2) You declare the ball unplayable and take a drop within two club lengths (penalty shot applies)

3) You declare the ball unplayable and decide that there is no suitable place to take a drop (under option 2 above), therefore you can drop the ball behind the obstacle, keeping the obstacle in line with the flag, you can go as far back as you want.

For your second question -

You can only pick and clean your ball on the fairway or the close cut grass surrounding the green.

From what I understand the first cut of grass off the fairway is not classed as the fairway so no pick and place is in play from there.

I could be wrong but I'm sure that I'm correct with what I've said.

Russ

#9 Posted : Friday, December 19, 2008 2:22:00 PM
TSG
TSG profile picture
Handicap: 36
Kent

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,955

Talking of winter rules ... i am sure that at one of my previous clubs I was told that if a ball was plugged, even in the rough, it could be lifted and cleaned.

Using the principle that if it wasn't winter and horrible and boggy, then the ball would not have been plugged, I accepted this as a fair point and had no reason to dispute it.

Is it correct?

#10 Posted : Saturday, December 20, 2008 7:06:00 PM
TSG
TSG profile picture
Handicap: 36
Kent

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,955

Hi Al,

I've also played the 'plugged' rule as you describe it but I'm almost certain that it was a 'local' rule ie a rule applicable at that particular club as opposed to an 'official rule of golf'.

If I'm right it'll be one of those - right for one club but cannot assume it's right for a different club type rules...

#11 Posted : Saturday, December 20, 2008 8:28:00 PM
Russell Middlet...
Russell Middleton profile picture
Handicap: 36
Essex

Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 387

It's always a good idea to read the local rules on the scorecard or notice board when playing a new course.

I've found some interesting things in the local rules that I wouldn't have known about!

Russ

#12 Posted : Tuesday, December 23, 2008 11:53:00 AM
TSG
TSG profile picture
Handicap: 36
Kent

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,955
Thanks Pete ... sounds most likely I think.
#13 Posted : Tuesday, December 23, 2008 3:41:00 PM
TSG
TSG profile picture
Handicap: 36
Kent

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,955

Plugged ball in rough.

We have it as a local rule at our club - but you can not clean the ball when picked up to drop - you can only clean from short cut areas such as fairway, fringe or obviously green.

Cheers

Kevin

Users browsing this topic
TSG
Forum Jump  
Putting Game Screen Shot