Golf Forums - Q&A with TSG Head Pro - What to do when........

Q&A with TSG Head Pro - What to do when........ Options
#1 Posted : Thursday, August 20, 2015 8:46:26 AM
Andrew Clissold
Andrew Clissold profile picture
Handicap: 0
Essex

Joined: Jan 2015
Posts: 5
 So we've all been there, you're 4 under your handicap, you're writing your winners speech in your head and you come to the 16th tee.....trees left, out of bounds right....all you want to do is get one down the middle but this is golf! 

And unfortunately, your ball has sailed right and out of bounds, what are your options?

A. Drop a ball where the ball went out of bounds for a one-shot penalty

B. Hit another ball from the tee for a one-shot penalty

C. Take a mulligan

Answers below and I'll post the correct answer next week! 

P.S Thanks for all of you who put your neck on the line last time and had a go!

 
#2 Posted : Thursday, August 20, 2015 1:00:24 PM
'JB' John Barbe...
'JB' John Barber profile picture
Handicap: 15
Bedfordshire
Pro Member

Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 275
 And like a lamb to the slaughter..... here's what I think.....
 
I know many players on here (done it myself) play using option A, but if you are playing in a CONGU competition there is only one option and that is:
 
B. Hit another ball from the tee for a one-shot penalty - that would of course be three off the tee.
 
(If you do actually want to use option A, the next shot from where you drop the ball would in fact be the 4th)
 
jb












 
#3 Posted : Thursday, August 20, 2015 5:51:03 PM
Greg Butler
Greg Butler profile picture
Handicap: 18
Essex
Pro Member

Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 77
 Have to agree with JB on both counts. Three off the tee officially, or 4 from around where your ball went ob if you weren't sure where it finished and couldn't find it, in a casual game.
#4 Posted : Thursday, August 20, 2015 5:59:18 PM
Brigitte Lockwo...
Brigitte Lockwood profile picture
Handicap: 30
Middlesex

Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 574
 The only option is B if one plays golf with proper etiquette and know how.

Option A as John says, is not an option, but if some "golfers" choose to play that way then they should be playing for 4 but that is not proper golf.....

I may sound pedantic but rules are there for a reason and that is why CONGU handicappers have a handicap that is strong and will do well in Matchplay on TSG, that is going by statistics.



Brigitte 
( From Wealtd of Kent where I just played my worst round!!!!!!!!!! with the Pine Tree Society, but looking forward to Marriott Tudor Park tomorrow , just another day.....)
#5 Posted : Friday, August 21, 2015 1:55:01 PM
Steve Duffy
Steve Duffy profile picture
Handicap: 20
West Sussex

Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 40
 Yep, Option B.

Plus all the obove comments work for me, about dropping a fourth.

 
#6 Posted : Friday, August 21, 2015 6:08:57 PM
Ian Mullins
Ian Mullins profile picture
Handicap: 20
Essex
Pro Member

Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 378
Probably the most common misconception I have come across on the fairways over the years ....it's got to be B.

Stroke and Distance.

As for dropping, I would accept that in a social game, if the player wasn't aware it had crossed or it had just gone over. If he/she knew they had, then he/she should take a provisional.

Shame though, sounds like you were having a good round!

;O)
 
#7 Posted : Friday, August 21, 2015 6:48:56 PM
Brigitte Lockwo...
Brigitte Lockwood profile picture
Handicap: 30
Middlesex

Joined: Nov 2011
Posts: 574
 To Ian
As far I understand it there is no stroke & distance when Tee shot is OBB. Go back to the Tee if you did not take a provisional. Dropping may be convenient but a No No....

Stroke & distance applies once you have already had your Tee shot.

Rules are complicated: there is a Rule book and a huge manual that explain the rules in so called "crystal clear Engish".

Yes applying the Rules may ruin a scorecard.........
Applying one'own version will certainly enhance the scores...

Happy Golfing 

I have noticed that "Etiquette not important" quoted in some golfers profile.  I wonder why ?

Brigitte
#8 Posted : Friday, August 21, 2015 7:34:10 PM
TSG
TSG profile picture
Handicap: 36
Kent

Message was deleted by User.
#9 Posted : Sunday, August 23, 2015 2:17:16 PM
Steve Rawlinson
Steve Rawlinson profile picture
Handicap: 36
North London

Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 91
Brigitte Lockwood wrote:
 As far I understand it there is no stroke & distance when Tee shot is OBB. Go back to the Tee if you did not take a provisional.

Hi Brigitte, "go back to the Tee" is  stroke and distance. 

Stroke - one shot penatly
Distance - back you go

The second tee shot is therefore the third shot of the hole, hence the term "three off the tee".

#10 Posted : Sunday, August 23, 2015 4:04:10 PM
Ian Fykin
Ian Fykin profile picture
Handicap: 36
essex

Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 38
 As Steve said, to go back to the tee is stroke and distance.
option b end of !!!!!!
#11 Posted : Wednesday, September 2, 2015 12:01:21 PM
Andrew Clissold
Andrew Clissold profile picture
Handicap: 0
Essex

Joined: Jan 2015
Posts: 5
 Firstly apologies for taking longer than I intended to reply to this. 

The answer is B. 

I see a few debates about the use of option A.... Just to clarify under the rules of golf - this is not an option. 

People will use option A in casual play with friends sometimes just to speed up play (know I've done it myself in the past!) with playing partners' agreement - but in competitive golf (or even playing with people you don't know), this should not even be thought of as an option. 


Anything you'd like me to cover next time feel free to message me! 

Andy
TSG Head Pro

Users browsing this topic
TSG
Forum Jump  
Putting Game Screen Shot