Golf Forums - What's the ruling?

What's the ruling? Options
#1 Posted : Saturday, January 17, 2009 9:54:00 PM
Alan Donaldson
Alan Donaldson profile picture
Handicap: 36
Devon

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 10

     Whilst playing our regular weekend round of golf, my friend and I got into a situation we had never encounted before,and we didn't know what the official ruling was.

    I teed off, and sent the ball straight down the fairway ( for a change) Then my mate sent his ball in the same direction. When we got to the balls we found them next to each other, less than an inch apart. My ball was nearest to the hole, so it was my mates shot next, and he asked me to mark and remove my ball out of his way. Since we were only playing a friendly game I agreed, but we wondered what the official ruling was in such a situation, can anyone help?

#2 Posted : Sunday, January 18, 2009 10:31:00 AM
Carol Bellis
Carol Bellis profile picture
Handicap: 36
Kent

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 76

Having had a similar experience, I also queried the ruling. In a match, my opponents ball was lying on the fringe of the green, and was in the area I hoped to chip the ball to. She refused to mark her ball, maintaining that you are only obliged to mark your ball on the green. Unable to find a ruling in the book, I took the query to our club pro who assured me that you could at anytime, anywhere on the course ask your opponent to mark their ball - even if they cannot see a reason for the request.

#3 Posted : Sunday, January 18, 2009 12:36:00 PM
Alan Donaldson
Alan Donaldson profile picture
Handicap: 36
Devon

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 10

  Thanks for your reply Carol. I will let my friend know. Happy golfing! Alan.

.

 

#4 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2009 7:42:00 PM
TSG
TSG profile picture
Handicap: 36
Kent

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,955

Hi,

I agree with Carol, any balls can be marked if requested. As I have had similar when two or more balls are in a bunker. Which one to play first? The furthest one away from the hole is the rule and in a matchplay situation you would but you can mark your ball to stop it getting smuthered in sand and put it back in as close to the original lie as possible. I have never been in a situation so serious as to do that and our gang play the nearest out so the other balls dont get covered in sand. But you would have to if the balls were near enough to each other.
regards
Steve

#5 Posted : Thursday, January 22, 2009 5:12:00 PM
Russell Middlet...
Russell Middleton profile picture
Handicap: 36
Essex

Joined: Oct 2008
Posts: 387
I've had on a couple of occasions had to ask my playing partner to mark their ball.

None have refused so it does appear as though you were playing with somebody who was trying to wind you up!

I'm not sure which rule it is, but it must be in the rule book.

Russ
Users browsing this topic
TSG
Forum Jump  
Putting Game Screen Shot