Golf Forums - Ruling help

Ruling help Options
#1 Posted : Tuesday, November 2, 2021 8:37:00 PM
Martin Brown
Martin Brown profile picture
Handicap: 22
essex
Pro Member

Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 41
Hi all, can someone gives some clarity to the following scenario and its appropriate ruling.

First drive is pulled, goes 270yards, longer than your normal hit off the tee and heads in the direction of a copse of trees with a lone large ultra-thick prickly thorn bush in the middle. It’s into a low sun and you’re unsure that you’ve even reached this copse but you declare a provisional and this goes sweetly down the middle at 250yards.

Upon reaching the area of your first ball you see that it is neither lost or out of bounds but it nestled right in the middle of this large prickly thorn bush. You immediately determine that relief of two club lengths no nearer the hole from where the ball lays is not an option for you as it would still leave the ball in this thicket without  any swing at all. The second option of dropping it and going as far back as you like behind where the ball came to rest in this thicket, keeping that spot between you and the hole provides another albeit a very difficult one.

So that’s the position you find yourself in and where my understanding of what you can legally do is a little blurred.

Your ball isn’t lost or out of bounds and although you have options one may look only slightly favourable to you to recover from and maintain at best a bogey opportunity. Can you simply deem it completely unplayable and play the provisional with a one stroke penalty even though your first ball has options to you no matter how difficult one or both may be? It seems to me that you hit the ball into the first unsavoury spot and it’s neither lost or out of bounds and so you have to deal with it from where it is.
#2 Posted : Tuesday, November 2, 2021 9:49:31 PM
Roger Ireland
Roger Ireland profile picture
Handicap: 9
Essex
Pro Member

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 68
 Hi,   this is my understanding,  as you  found the first ball it is in play, your prov ball can not be  used  , you can take a line from the hole back to your ball, then you can drop on this line going back as far as you wish,  or  as always  you can play from were you hit the ball from,  but this has to be a new shot, you cant use your prov ball,  because that is ok,  but when you hit your ball again it could go out of bounds , or in water etc etc,  ,  which is why you have to go back to play the shot again,    so i would say ifthere is room behind the bush this would be best,   this is my understanding  see you in december   roger
#3 Posted : Tuesday, November 2, 2021 11:05:40 PM
Martin Brown
Martin Brown profile picture
Handicap: 22
essex
Pro Member

Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 41
 Thanks Roger. Though I've just read that at anytime you can declare your ball unplayable. In theory you can declare a booming 300 yard middle of the fairway drive unplayable if you so wish, drop a ball in the nearest point to it then you'd be playing three. You could even declare it unplayable on the green and six inches from the hole, place a ball next to it and take your penalty shot if you so wished. That's where the confusion lays for me. So in the above example, even though you have one of the options open to you to play it you can still declare unplayable and put the provisional into play. Or have I got this wrong?
What if a provisional hadn't been played. Then an unenviable trek back to the Tee or or the long drop a very very long way back till you got a shot available to you.

Many thanks though.

 
#4 Posted : Wednesday, November 3, 2021 1:59:26 PM
Roger Ireland
Roger Ireland profile picture
Handicap: 9
Essex
Pro Member

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 68
 yes it is correct you can always  declare a ball unplayable and then take a drop with penalty,   but you cannot use a prov  ball you may have played,  because, when you find the first ball that is the ball in play, you can then declare the ball unplayable, take a drop, or go back to the tee and play from there,  but you cant us the prov ball because it is not in play, as soon as the first ball is found it is in play, the reason for this is because if you hit a good prov ball,  you would be taking an unfair advanage,   as  if you went back to play 3 off the tee ,  you could play a bad shot, maybe ob,  then you would have to play 5 off the tee,  and so on, that is why when you find your 1st ball even if it is in a bush,  it is in play, and your prov ball cannot be used, i talk with the pro at vila sol  today and he comfirmed  this rule,  hope this is  clear,( as mud )    roger
#5 Posted : Wednesday, November 3, 2021 4:53:03 PM
Martin Brown
Martin Brown profile picture
Handicap: 22
essex
Pro Member

Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 41
 Many thanks Roger for comprehensively explaining the rule, I've always known it to be this way but have recently found a golf website which is at odds with this. Its from a website www.golfsidekick.com/knowledge/basic -rules-of-golf    In it I found the following paragraph which confounded me and so prompted me to post my querry..

If you hit a shot and think your ball might be lost in some bushes or similar problem area, or you suspect it could be out of bounds, you can hit a ball from the same position and call it "provisional". Then you can go look for the original ball and if you find it, you can play it and pick up the provisional with no penalty or you can deem the original unplayable and play the provisional ball with a one stroke penalty.

The final sentence in the above paragraph highlights that the original ball can actually be deemed unplayable, picked up and the provisional ball can be played with a one stroke penalty. This its at odds of what we believe the R&A rules says about this and doesn't dictate that the original is and should be in play, no matter how difficult the circumstances of its recovery back into playmight be. 

  
 
#6 Posted : Wednesday, November 3, 2021 5:22:08 PM
Pete Mayo
Pete Mayo profile picture
Handicap: 20
Cheshire

Joined: Sep 2008
Posts: 27
 I believe you and Roger to be correct and the article you refer to is wrong. It goes without saying that if the original ball is found but is out of bounds you play the provisional.
#7 Posted : Wednesday, November 3, 2021 5:36:44 PM
Martin Brown
Martin Brown profile picture
Handicap: 22
essex
Pro Member

Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 41
Hi Pete. I believe that we are correct but this article is kind of saying that if your ball is in the bounds of the golf course but it’s possibly just a little bit too difficult for you to get it back into play by way of a two club drop or back as far as you like then you can simply pick it up i.e. abandon it and play your provisional. 


#8 Posted : Wednesday, November 3, 2021 6:33:32 PM
Roger Ireland
Roger Ireland profile picture
Handicap: 9
Essex
Pro Member

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 68
 I think i know why you have a problem,  its the new rules that allow  you to speed up play,  but these rules  cannot be used in comps, therefore they are not the true rules of golf,  i never use these new rules, i play every game using only the full rules,  what you talk about  are uesd by some  golfs to keep the game moving,  and if you re only playing a fun games, then maybe its ok,  but they are not the rules that the pros play by or any club comp,  roger
#9 Posted : Wednesday, November 3, 2021 8:26:45 PM
Martin Brown
Martin Brown profile picture
Handicap: 22
essex
Pro Member

Joined: Apr 2017
Posts: 41
 Cheers Roger 👍
#10 Posted : Thursday, November 4, 2021 10:31:06 AM
Paul Houghton
Paul Houghton profile picture
Handicap: 16
Essex
Pro Member

Joined: Jun 2014
Posts: 136
Hi Martin, what you have been told by others is correct.
But if you cannot physically get to your ball and identify it, then you must declare the ball lost and play your provisional ball.

R&A Ruleing Players edition states how to fairly search for your ball.  If to reach the ball you will break branches and move bracken etc you may be accused of bettering your lie, stance etc. Always best to play a provisional and declare the ball lost in these circumstances. Announce my ball is lost I cannot identify the one in the bush even if you can see it!  There of course is a safety aspect of going into bushes and of course destruction of the natural environment issues.  It is soley your responsiblity in directing the search for your ball, not your playing partners.

 
Users browsing this topic
TSG
Forum Jump  
Putting Game Screen Shot