Golf Forums - What the ruling on a player moving the ball if you can't tell if it rested on the same sp

What the ruling on a player moving the ball if you can't tell if it rested on the same sp Options
#1 Posted : Sunday, May 11, 2008 1:15:00 AM
TSG
TSG profile picture
Handicap: 36
Kent

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,955

Does any one know the ruling? It happen to my comptetitor in an inter club match today...

#2 Posted : Sunday, May 11, 2008 9:48:00 AM
TSG
TSG profile picture
Handicap: 36
Kent

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,955

Are you saying that the player moved his own ball and when he replaced it you couldn't be sure it reseted on the same spot?  If so it leads to the question - why did he move his ball?

#3 Posted : Tuesday, May 13, 2008 10:16:00 PM
TSG
TSG profile picture
Handicap: 36
Kent

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,955

He moved it with his club after he addressed the ball. Before he took the club away he accidentally knocked it. I wouldn't usually say anything but this was in a county competiton and he was my opponent!

#4 Posted : Wednesday, May 14, 2008 11:49:00 AM
TSG
TSG profile picture
Handicap: 36
Kent

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,955
Posted by Simon Bale on 13 May 2008, 22:16

He moved it with his club after he addressed the ball. Before he took the club away he accidentally knocked it. I wouldn't usually say anything but this was in a county competiton and he was my opponent!

 

Ah, moved it with his club did he.  So the ball was 'in play' and (unless it merely occilated and returned to it's original position) he made a foul stroke and should have incurred a 1 stroke penalty.  See rule 18-2 in the pdf version of the latest R&A rules (be warned it's 2mg so if you haven't got broadband don't click the link !)   http://www.randa.org/flash/rules/PDF/WEB_ROG_spreads.pdf

I hope you won anyway...

#5 Posted : Saturday, May 17, 2008 10:47:00 PM
Mark Hayes
Mark Hayes profile picture
Handicap: 36
Kent

Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 15

haven't read the rule book but I know yep definitely a penalty.  should have pulled him (and he should have pulled himself)

Users browsing this topic
TSG
Forum Jump  
Putting Game Screen Shot