|
|
Joined: Mar 2010 Posts: 1,955
|
Hi All, Can anyone tell me, do you get a free drop from a tree with no stake, but a protective sleeve. arthur.
|
|
|
John Loveridge
Handicap: 36
Berkshire
Joined: Jun 2008 Posts: 30
|
This has been on here for over 24hrs and no one has been brave enough to reply. Our local rules allow a drop from young or staked trees so i would look at this as a young tree and let you have a free drop. If i am wrong then someone will put me right John
|
|
|
Joined: Mar 2010 Posts: 1,955
|
Personally I always carry my own stake for use in such circumstances (and a small saw for those irritating over hanging branches). The R&A Rules specifically says 'staked' tree so no you wouldn't get a drop, but most clubs implement a 'Local Rule' to protect new plantations etc from over zealous golfers (also used to protect areas of slow growing heather etc). So check the Local Rules section - if it's a new planting it would be advertised on the club noticeboard or, if it's been there a while (ie they've had time to get new cards printed) it'll be specified on the card under Local Rules.
|
|
|
John Loveridge
Handicap: 36
Berkshire
Joined: Jun 2008 Posts: 30
|
Ah i knew that someone would join in.
|
|
|
Joined: Mar 2010 Posts: 1,955
|
|
|
|
Joined: Mar 2010 Posts: 1,955
|
Many thanks Pete and John for your replys, still non the wiser ha ! ha !. Looks like i will have to ask at the club, if i ask my golf colleagues i will probably get a mixed reaction, all making out they know the rules. Cheers lads.
|
|
|
Joined: Mar 2010 Posts: 1,955
|
When a member of a previous club they had a local rule any young tree (they specified under 5' high) was a free drop. I assume most golfers being over 5' they could judge it. I would say that if it does not have a stake and there is no local rule tough luck and take your penalty.
|
|
|
|
TSG
|