Golf Forums - Ruling...........

Ruling........... Options
#1 Posted : Thursday, March 4, 2010 1:54:35 PM
Ian Mullins
Ian Mullins profile picture
Handicap: 20
Essex
Pro Member

Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 378
Can anyone tell me what the rule is if.........

You and your partner have teed off, he plays his second shot and hits your ball on the fairway in the process? 

Do you play from where your ball comes to rest? Or like a green, you replace it in its original position?

This happened this week, so if anyone knows the answer, dont be shy.........

Ian M
#2 Posted : Thursday, March 4, 2010 5:00:25 PM
TSG
TSG profile picture
Handicap: 36
Kent

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,955
Easy, your ball is replaced as near as could be determined to its original position, he plays his from where it stopped (R&A Rule 18-5: Ball at Rest Moved by Another Ball). 

If his ball ended behind a tree it's also permissible to laugh whilst carefully replacing your ball in the middle of the fairway.
#3 Posted : Thursday, March 4, 2010 5:42:58 PM
Dougie Gray
Dougie Gray profile picture
Handicap: 36
Surrey

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 18
Now then... Could you clean your ball prior to replacing it ? dg
#4 Posted : Thursday, March 4, 2010 6:22:24 PM
TSG
TSG profile picture
Handicap: 36
Kent

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,955
Haven't checked this one but, I believe, any time you are legally allowed to lift your ball you are allowed to clean it.
#5 Posted : Friday, March 5, 2010 8:46:42 AM
Dougie Gray
Dougie Gray profile picture
Handicap: 36
Surrey

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 18
Pete, not always the case.. For example, if your ball is just off the green, but in the line of your opponent's ball, then your opponent can ask you to "mark it". When you lift the ball in this instance, you aren't allowed to modify it's "condition" (ie you can't clean it). To avoid modifying it's "condition", you usually lift it up with one finger either side of the ball, hold it only with those two fingers (apols..) and replace it again in exactly the same position / orientation as it was before it was lifted.

I don't know if the same "condition" rule applied when your ball had been moved when at rest, per the initial query.

dg
#6 Posted : Friday, March 5, 2010 9:42:54 AM
TSG
TSG profile picture
Handicap: 36
Kent

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,955
Dougie you are indeed correct. On investigation Rule 21 states:

A ball on the putting green may be cleaned under Rule 16-1b. Elsewhere a ball may be cleaned when lifted except when it has been lifted:

a) To determine if it is unfit for play
b) For identification (in which case it can only be cleaned to the extent necessary for identification)
c) Because it is assisting or interfering with play.

So, I'd say that in Ian's situation he would be entitled to clean the ball and in my situation I've incurred a few previously unregistered penalty shots !
#7 Posted : Friday, March 5, 2010 11:44:45 AM
Ian Mullins
Ian Mullins profile picture
Handicap: 20
Essex
Pro Member

Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 378
Thanks for the clarification chaps.......I did indeed place my ball (as close as possible) back in its original position (uncleaned), struct it beatifully and walked off witha par and 3 points - phew!

Ian M

Users browsing this topic
TSG
Forum Jump  
Putting Game Screen Shot