Golf Forums - Golf rule clarification?

Golf rule clarification? Options
#1 Posted : Tuesday, March 8, 2011 4:27:48 PM
TSG
TSG profile picture
Handicap: 36
Kent

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,955
 Ok so you tee off and the ball goes  to the left and it heads towards a water hazard.  It appears that the ball has either stopped short or gone in the water, but you are not sure

You look for your ball on the bank in front of the hazzard, with no luck....

Can you now assume the ball went in the water (even though you cannot see it, & didn't see it actually drop in the water) and therefore take a drop within the hazard usual rules etc, or do you have to go back to the tee and play the shot  with a shot and distance penaly? 

appreciate any feedback
#2 Posted : Tuesday, March 8, 2011 7:03:02 PM
TSG
TSG profile picture
Handicap: 36
Kent

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,955
Hi,

Unless you actually saw the ball go into the water hazard you have to treat it as a lost ball and go back to where the ball was played from.  In this case you will be taking 3 from the tee.  Hope this answers your question.  Stuart
Users browsing this topic
TSG
Forum Jump  
Putting Game Screen Shot