|
|
Ian Mullins
Handicap: 20
Essex
Pro Member
Joined: Feb 2008 Posts: 378
|
OK, heres one to debate and a question that came up the other day.....
When can you change your ball during a hole? Or cant you?
A fellow player wanted to change his ball on the green last week as it had been 'cut' in flight to the putting surface......can you do this? Or must you finish the hole with the ball you started (unless lost?)
Comments welcome.....
Ian
|
|
|
David Pipe
Handicap: 36
Surrey
Joined: Mar 2009 Posts: 57
|
I'm pretty sure you cannot change your ball during the play of the hole, unless:
1. It's lost during the play of the hole; or
2. It is damaged during play of the hole.
So in the case you described, the player should be allowed to switch his ball if it has been damaged (for example, the cover has been "cut" on the approach shot to the green).
|
|
|
'JB' John Barbe...
Handicap: 15
Bedfordshire
Pro Member
Joined: Oct 2008 Posts: 275
|
Happy new year folks....
And the answer is:
Rule 5-3 Ball unfit for play.
A ball is unfit for play if it is cut, cracked or out of shape...... If a player has reason to believe his ball has become unfit to play he may mark lift and check. Before lifting he MUST announce what he is doing to his opponent/marker and allow them to see damage. If not damaged it must not be cleaned (unless on green) and replaced.
Failure to comply, usual penalties apply.
The new rule book for 2012-2015 is now available and this is on page 46.
I know, sad anorak ain't I???
jb
|
|
|
Ian Mullins
Handicap: 20
Essex
Pro Member
Joined: Feb 2008 Posts: 378
|
So I guess it depends on how cut the ball is and how generous you feel toward your playing partner on the day.....
Thanks for feedback!
:-)
|
|
|
Kathy Hylton
Handicap: 36
MO, United States
|
I'm pretty sure you cannot change your ball during the play of the hole, unless:
1. It's lost during the play of the hole; or
2. It is damaged during play of the hole.
So in the case you described, the player should be allowed to switch his ball if it has been damaged (for example, the cover has been "cut" on the approach shot to the green).
Agree with David Pipe's comment :)
|
|
|
Ian Fykin
Handicap: 36
essex
Joined: Feb 2011 Posts: 38
|
I think David, John and Kathy have got it right. And John you are not a sad anorak, but many golfers don't. even try to get to know some basic rules
|
|
|
|
TSG
|