Most Recent Course Reviews

Russell Lawson
Profile picture of Russell Lawson
Handicap: 13.7

Lakeside Lodge Golf Centre reviewed in May 2024

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Great place

Course is in good condition but the greens still need some work, the layout is nice and some challenging holes

Anthony Banister
Profile picture of Anthony Banister
Handicap: 14.6
PRO

Hainault Golf Club reviewed in May 2024

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Value for Money

Well kept

Well kept

John Donaldson
Profile picture of John Donaldson
Handicap: 10.1
PRO

Amendoeira Golf Resort reviewed in May 2024

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Great test of golf!

I played here twice as they have 2 different courses - The Faldo and the O’Connor courses. Both are a real test of golf. Buggies included in the package and you really need them as some of the tees are a fair distance from the last green! Some great holes to play on both courses and some great views.
the clubhouse is great offering all sorts of food and drinks to cater for your groups.
Practice facilities are great with a driving range and numerous putting greens.
All in all a great place to spend a couple of days golfing. Plus the weather helps even though it was a tad windy which reflected the high gross scores!!

David Lean
Profile picture of David Lean
Handicap: 30.0

The Ridge Golf Club reviewed in May 2024

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Great Course - Great Clubhouse.

Firsttime of playing there. Course was in great condition despite the amount of rain we have had. The course is a good challenge and played well. The clubhouse offered good food options and the breakfast was great. Will definitely be going back again.

Duane 'The Rock' Cleaver
Profile picture of Duane 'The Rock' Cleaver
Handicap: 17.5
PRO

Formby Hall Golf Club reviewed in May 2024

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

A Welcome Surprise

I've played this course many times over the years. It's never impressed me, its a hard course. Water playing on 16 holes so good course management is required. I've always said it needs a good green keeper as the course was poor and needed some care and attention.
Well played it this time and the course was in great condition. Greens where a bit fluffy and bobbly, but they are working on them. Tee boxes are ok, but no where as good as my home club tee boxes.

So well done the green staff and keep up the good work.

Look forward to my next visit.

Lee Kyprian
Profile picture of Lee Kyprian
Handicap: 26.8
PRO

Toot Hill Golf Club reviewed in May 2024

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Very underrated Essex Course, LOVE THIS PLACE

Without doubt a very nice course in great condition. Fantastic value, great track to play and enjoy the game, quite long but a very good test.

Lee Kyprian
Profile picture of Lee Kyprian
Handicap: 26.8
PRO

The Ridge Golf Club reviewed in May 2024

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Kent Course worth playing, nice track

Greens were great. Course layout was pretty good, along with very nice scenery.

Really liked it, will play again this year and next.

Dennis Smith
Profile picture of Dennis Smith
Handicap: 32.4
PRO

Stock Brook Manor Golf Club reviewed in May 2024

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Great course

A bit of a long slog for my 32 handicap grass a bit too long around the greens, I enjoyed the course and will be back

John Donaldson
Profile picture of John Donaldson
Handicap: 10.1
PRO

Royal Curragh Golf Club reviewed in May 2024

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Great track . . .

Played here against the Defence Forces Ireland and I can say that this course is a real gem in Ireland. Really lush green fairways and superb greens. Long challenging holes amongst the 18 on show and some absolute diamond holes where you need to be at your very best to make a bogey never mind a par!!

Great clubhouse with everything you could ask for. Friendly staff who go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

Definitely worth a visit if you are in that area.

JD

'JB' John Barber
Profile picture of 'JB' John Barber
Handicap: 18.6
PRO
Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Living on its previous reputation

Turned up to play on a Sunday afternoon, and the first noticeable thing is that it is no longer part of the Marriott group. That should have told us all something.
The Arden -
Considering the atrocious weather the UK has had this winter (and last autumn), it is not surprising there were no buggies permitted. That said, the courses are not in any condition. We played the 'championship' course on day one. I can state quite categorically, that it is no longer the course that I played around 12 years ago. The whole course is overgrown to some extent. Much of that could be put down to weather conditions, but not all of it. Tee boxes are OK, but fluffy. Fairways were, again fluffy, but at least with pick and place, a chance to practice off the deck with a driver, but they are very wet, what was required were areas marked as GUR. The greens were the best part of the course, but again lack of care leaves them sub par. I will give it 3.5 out of 5.
The Aylesford -
Again no buggies and fairways that actually should have been mostly GUR. This second day had rain, but the only reason the greens started puddling was that they were so waterlogged already. The rough is so poor because of the lack of care (bad weather to a degree) and very tufty, so no fun if you go in it. It was good to see the green keepers out on manoeuvres whilst we were out there, fairways were getting a good cutting - just a pity it was after our group had played them. I can only give this course 2 out of 5.

In summary, Forest of Arden need to up their game, not live on their previous reputation, which is rapidly disappearing. Would I go back? Possibly, but only after a dry spell. This is not a course that handles a lot of rain well.

Paul Houghton
Profile picture of Paul Houghton
Handicap: 18.2
PRO

Top Meadow Golf Club reviewed in Apr 2024

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Surprisingly, a very nice experience!

Really enjoyed visiting Top Meadow, unfortunately it was a freezing cold day with a wicked Eastly wind. The club house car park is shared other facilities, getting a parking place can be a chore. The staff from the club shop, too the catering staff are friendly and very helpful. The club was very busy on the day, with a massive society going out before our society of 14 players. But that did not slow us, however there were members jumping in on certain holes that irritated some. Having no course guide made things a bit tricky as there are many blind holes, none of us had played the course before in my group. The course is Parkland with some challenging holes. You start on an elevated tee, hitting onto a par 3 green, very easy to run through. The fairways were on great condition, but the greens... although they looked nice were long and very very slow. But considering our winter, the course was in terrific condition. I would love to return and play the course on a bright warm day. I was wearing five layers and was still cold! We had a breakfast and Ham Egg and chips on our return. With 18 holes we were charged an amazing £30!!! That is cheap golf. The buggy which was petrol was £22. Give Top Meadow a go, it is a great test of golf and will not break the bank, but choose a warm day! Good luck getting a parking space, though they do open a field for extra parking on very busy days.

Gordon Cathcart
Profile picture of Gordon Cathcart
Handicap: 22.7
PRO

Blakes Golf Club reviewed in Apr 2024

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Course in great condition

Blake’s was in great condition - fairways and greens were brilliant given the time of year and recent weather - with the exception of the bunkers which are dreadful. Great value for money.

Lee Adby
Profile picture of Lee Adby
Handicap: 20.9
PRO

The Darenth reviewed in Apr 2024

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Beautiful course

The Darenth is an excellent golf course. Its challenging for all levels of player. Tee boxes are in very good condition, fairways are excellent, greens were good considering the bad weather we have had, pretty quick though. Staff were amazing and really very helpful, we will definatly be coming back.
Only minor negative is the bunkers were not brilliant but as there is not loads it wasnt reallyt a problem.
You have to keep up pace of play, where my group were high handicappers we had a group chasing us round the course, not their problem but biy distract us a little.
Overall a really enjoyable course and I look forward to returning in a few weeks time.

Lee Kyprian
Profile picture of Lee Kyprian
Handicap: 26.8
PRO

Chartham Park reviewed in Apr 2024

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Very good alternative to top 100 clubs in UK

Society or with friends, whoever will play here will enjoy the experience. I will definitely return and play again. Course was good with great scenery all the way around. Winter has taken its toll all-over. The greens were great and the rest was being treated/looked after with great respect by the green keeper., so we'll done the team on that.

Paul Houghton
Profile picture of Paul Houghton
Handicap: 18.2
PRO

Three Rivers Golf Club reviewed in Apr 2024

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Over played and tired

Over the last fifteen years I have witnessed the decline of The Kings Course at 3 Rivers.
In recent years I have attended a friends charity day there. 3 Rivers suffers as its sister course Stock Brook which gets all the money spent on it, where as 3 Rivers has ended up a very poor cousin. The layout is parkland, but much of the back nine is played around a severe hill.
3 Rivers is a multi purpose facility, the day we played it there was a large wedding, leaving very little parking. I parked next to the green keepers machinery. Prices at 3 Rivers are not cheap, I was there for a Charity day, so the food came as a package, but I think the staff were more focused catering elsewhere. The food was a BBQ but was cold by the time we got in. The course looked very over played with bare patches around many of the tees and greens. If your looking for a hilly course then 3 Rivers is perfect, but if your looking for quality Stock Brook or Rayleigh are much nicer tracks locally.

Daniel Walker
Profile picture of Daniel Walker
Handicap: 21.2
PRO

Warley Park Golf Club reviewed in Apr 2024

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Surprisingly poor condition

Clubhouse was nice enough, staff were friendly. "Pro shop" very small and not very well stocked.
The course was in terrible condition, the greens were diseased and poorly maintained. Fairways were average at best and some bunkers were terrible, some didn't know if they were bunkers or mounds they were that overgrown. No clear paths between holes. I get that there's been terrible weather lately but not to the extent that the course should be in this state. Didn't see one groundsman the whole way round on a Monday afternoon when the weather was nice. Good job the company was great

Lee Kyprian
Profile picture of Lee Kyprian
Handicap: 26.8
PRO

Warley Park Golf Club reviewed in Apr 2024

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Its OK, good value Essex course

Probably played the course too early in golf season as it was not in good nick, hence the 2. The holes were not trimmed and a lot for the course was rough. Hopefully a month from now it's better as I will be back and hopefully give it a higher score.

That said it looks like there is an attempt to improve the course as I could see lots of work going on. Also the course layout is not boring, the holes are different and as a golf course it looks a nice course, so looking forward to playing it again in the summer.

Lets see how they do this spring and summer, like I said I will play it again.

Anthony Banister
Profile picture of Anthony Banister
Handicap: 14.6
PRO

Warley Park Golf Club reviewed in Apr 2024

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Tatty

Very tatty, all it needs is a good manicure in every department, interesting layout, could be great

Martin Brown
Profile picture of Martin Brown
Handicap: 20.9
PRO

Mardyke Valley Golf Club reviewed in Apr 2024

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Winter course holding up well.

For over 60's a half breakfast and round of golf for £22.50. Course presented very playable after so much rain, distinct lack of mud and/or standing water made it a joy to play. Friendly pro and efficient waiting staff. Practice green and practice nets in very good order. What's not too like.

Daniel Davidsson
Profile picture of Daniel Davidsson
Handicap: 5.2
PRO

Pedham Place Golf Centre reviewed in Apr 2024

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Nice course, drains well and good value for money

Nice course, drains well and good value for money

Daniel Davidsson
Profile picture of Daniel Davidsson
Handicap: 5.2
PRO
Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Good course, nicely maintained & drains really well!

Good course, nicely maintained & drains really well!

Steve 'The Power' Slater
Profile picture of Steve 'The Power' Slater
Handicap: 15.7
PRO
Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Course has been closed for years

North weald golf course was sold lock stock and barrel some years ago. Ostensibly for major housing redevelopment, for which planning permission is yet to be submitted ( so nothing on the footprint of the actual golf course). The clubhouse and outbuildings have been redeveloped though.

This is no longer a course that can be played, nature is reclaiming it.

Matthew Heath
Profile picture of Matthew Heath
Handicap: 24.5
PRO

Clandon Regis Golf Club reviewed in Apr 2024

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Great course, will be back when it's dry

Played CR as a practice but got caught in a rain storm which spoilt the round. Lovely course in great condition given all the poor weather of late. Interesting and challenging course which I imagine will be lovely to play in better weather.

The course was having green maintenance but still rolled well, they offered a reduced green fee due to these works.

Gordon Cathcart
Profile picture of Gordon Cathcart
Handicap: 22.7
PRO

Old Thorns Golf Club reviewed in Mar 2024

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Excellent facilities, would visit again

Old Thorns has the full works - golf, hotel, spa and sports facilities. I was there with a group of 15 for overnight stay with 2 rounds of golf. Everything was A1. Not cheap but good value for money. Lovely course and in excellent condition given the time of year (late March) and the weather we have had so far this year. A few hills make it a tough walk for us oldies but resulted in some spectacular holes. Would happily visit again.

Chris Bradford
Profile picture of Chris Bradford
Handicap: 26.4
PRO

Stapleford Abbotts Golf Club reviewed in Mar 2024

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Good course value for money

Only 3 players, rain stayed away until 17th 18th lot of standing water if strayed off fairways, patchy greens otherwise good days golf thanks Ed

Lee Kyprian
Profile picture of Lee Kyprian
Handicap: 26.8
PRO

Seaford Head Golf Club reviewed in Mar 2024

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Seaford Head great value

Greens were amazing, fairways pretty good considering the 6 months of Winter we have just had. I have no idea what happened, but my best day ever in terms of golf, score.

John Smith
Profile picture of John Smith
Handicap: 25.3
PRO

Belhus Park Golf Club reviewed in Mar 2024

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Value for Money

enjoyable

the course was in good condition considering the amount of rain we have had, this is the first time i have played here in over 30 years so i found it interesting, it was very enjoyable as not to demanding

Steve Devine
Profile picture of Steve Devine
Handicap: 18.0
PRO

Barkway Park Golf Club reviewed in Mar 2024

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Dry course considering other courses were so muddy and wet.

Played Barkway with my son on Saturday 16th March 2024.
first time we had played this course. green fee was £25.00
Course was in very good condition with dry fairways and greens. an open parkland course
wide fairways and not too much rough so only a few balls lost to water and OB.
Bunkers were well maintained with fresh sand in the ones I saw.
walking with trolleys or carrying was the order of the day and tees and greens were roped off to keep foot traffic in the designated walking areas.
downside to this was the tees were generally 40 to 80 feet from your bag so you sometimes had the wrong club in your hand when you could see the shot required, and you had to clamber over or under the ropes again.
Overall the round was enjoyable and I would recommend this club especially if your local ones are closed or too wet to enjoy. ( as many in Essex are)
could not give a view on hospitality as everyone employed had gone home and clubhouse was locked up at 4.15 pm so no access to a loo and no pint to quench my thirst.

'JB' John Barber
Profile picture of 'JB' John Barber
Handicap: 18.6
PRO
Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Busy!!

This course is no longer the three nines it was. They have acquired a little more land and developed into a pair of 18 hole courses.
Olympos is alongside of the sea and canal. It is very new and will need to bed in for a couple more years. BUT, beware, there are hotel guests that like to wander around the pathways, not even dreaming they are in danger from golf balls. And if you are unlucky enough to play a busy day, it can be slow, and due to the up and down layout, YOU will be in the firing line!
Aspendos is the old forest course, much more developed, but as with both, shortish. But it is more enjoyable (with less chance of errant golf balls).

John Smith
Profile picture of John Smith
Handicap: 25.3
PRO

Top Meadow Golf Club reviewed in Mar 2024

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

enjoyable

lovely course well kept a lot different from when i was a member ,it was an interesting 9 hole now it is a demanding but fair course see you once the weather improves

Ian Mullins
Profile picture of Ian Mullins
Handicap: 19.4
PRO

Toro Golf Club reviewed in Mar 2024

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

The Pearl of Africa...

The Toro Golf Club in Fort Portal, Western Uganda is an amazing little golf course set in the lush rainforest area of Western Uganda.

Established by the colonials in the early 1920s (when Uganda was a British Protectorate), this course is good exercise, given the course is approx 6,000 ft above sea level.

Having traveled here in support of the Afriyea Golf Academy, it was a pleasure to play here twice with the Amateur Uganda National Women's Champion 2023 and Coach Lillian.

While only a 9-hole course, it feels like a mature and well-designed layout that has more of an 18-hole feel.

I've certainly never teed off surrounded by 20 or more vultures - and what can only be described as characters from The Jungle Book - on the 1st tee, who took off heading for the rainforest on my downswing.

The course is undulating and has a varied selection of holes but the greens struggle (especially in the dry season) to stay completely true.

However, who cares, you're a few minutes away from the jungle and amazing scenery.

What I like most about this club, is that every visitor is given a Caddie, who will carry your bag, give you advice and look for your ball. For only £2! However, I made sure mine was bought drinks after, which not everyone does!

This not only provides employment for the kids, but it gives them valuable opportunities to meet people from all walks of life.

I struggled to score here but I would thoroughly recommend a visit to Toro Golf Club if you are in the area!


Lee Kyprian
Profile picture of Lee Kyprian
Handicap: 26.8
PRO

RAC Club reviewed in Mar 2024

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

RAC Golf Club, a fast improving golf course & venue

Played a society day here just yesterday. Fantastic venue, for societies and all golfers. The venue has had lots of investment over the years and the changes are making this place better each year. The food was very good (set menu), and the staff from the pro shop to reception and restaurant were of the highest quality.

Like so many of the courses in this part of the UK, even with so much rain, the fairways were ok, and the greens were very good. It's not one of the elite and would struggle to get into the top 100, but who knows, if they keep this up? That said the greens were undulating and quirky, which helped with the playing experience.

If you are in a society, I would strongly recommend you visit this venue.

Michael Tricker
Profile picture of Michael Tricker
Handicap: 23.1
PRO

Blakes Golf Club reviewed in Mar 2024

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Long course in Ok condition for this time of year.

Long course, and a good test of golf. Posting in mid-march meant mats on Par 3's and a couple of other places and the mats are a bit bad condition.

It's quite high and open so windy, but that does dry the ground fast.

A good test of Golf but fair, will improve a lot very soon.


John Smith
Profile picture of John Smith
Handicap: 25.3
PRO

Top Meadow Golf Club reviewed in Mar 2024

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

good value

top meadow is an interesting course well laid out with a variety of hazards, providing interesting golf for players of most levels.

Ian Ralph
Profile picture of Ian Ralph
Handicap: 18.4
PRO
Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Worth a visit if you've not played here.

The course feels quite long and straight. it's driver off most tees but not fun when you miss.
A beautiful setting.

James Thornton
Profile picture of James Thornton
Handicap: 23.4

Mardyke Valley Golf Club reviewed in Jan 2024

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Decent condition for January

No mud, great greens, cut fairways and 4 hours for a 4 ball. Will be back

Andy Benson
Profile picture of Andy Benson
Handicap: 27.2
PRO

Antrobus Golf Club reviewed in Jan 2024

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

S

Course was in excellent condition even after all the snow and ice we had.
Excellent value for money for a society day.
I would like to play this course in the summer.

Andy Benson
Profile picture of Andy Benson
Handicap: 27.2
PRO

Sherdley Park Golf Course reviewed in Jan 2024

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Value for Money

Friendly game

After all the rain this was one of not many courses open. Unfortunately it should not of been open. It was a mud bath. Hard work to get around.
I would like to play it in the summer though.

Andy Benson
Profile picture of Andy Benson
Handicap: 27.2
PRO

Bowring Park Golf Course reviewed in Dec 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Friendly game of golf

Excellent value for money. Cost me £16 for round of golf. Great condition course. Some really challenging holes as well.

Andy Benson
Profile picture of Andy Benson
Handicap: 27.2
PRO

Runcorn Golf Club reviewed in Dec 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Round of golf with a member

Course was a little muddy in places due to weather conditions. Does not drain very well. Would not recommend for winter golf. Played a round with a member so get cheaper green fees. Greens were ok but a few with standing water.

Andy Benson
Profile picture of Andy Benson
Handicap: 27.2
PRO

Mossock Hall Golf Club reviewed in Dec 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Winter society game

Course was in great condition considering the weather we have had.
Back 9 was a bit muddy but nothing too bad. I have played this course twice and really enjoyed it.

John Donaldson
Profile picture of John Donaldson
Handicap: 10.1
PRO

Foxhills Golf Club reviewed in Oct 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Some spot!!

Returned to play at Foxhills after my initial round was rained off a few months ago. Managed to join 3 lads and make up a 4 ball. Course had just had the fairways sanded which meant some shots were being played with a large amount of sand under your ball. Made it a bit Micky Mouse at times. Otherwise the course we played - The Longcross - was great. Challenging holes and a bit tighter course than the other Bernard Hunt one. Had a good game with only a few mishaps on the way round.

Great practice facilities and a nice atmosphere in the clubhouse. It caters for the tennis club and also the health and fitness club. Busy place.

Maybe a bit pricey but I was using the voucher I won from The Social Golfer so I was quids in!!

May go back . . . . .if I can get a deal!!

Ian Mullins
Profile picture of Ian Mullins
Handicap: 19.4
PRO

Hendon Golf Club reviewed in Oct 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Pretty Parkland Course...

Hendon Golf Club in North London is a well-established golf course designed by five-time OPEN Champion J H Taylor and Harry Vardon.

On arrival, the Clubhouse is welcoming and the staff are friendly. In addition, there is a large veranda overlooking the 18th Green on which to enjoy a coffee before you play.

The course itself is fairly flat and has plenty of space to play, meaning the course is forgiving for higher handicappers. However, with greens as quick as anywhere I've played this year, beware!

The course is compact, and therefore easy to walk between holes, and there is a good combination of hole designs to keep you coming back for more. Some of the Par 3's are tricky, with small landing areas, so bring your short game, if you want to score well.

We played on a sunny day in September and you would have no idea you were just a few miles from the centre of London's great metropolis.

Alas, we didn't have time to sample the Clubhouse food but perhaps we'll save this for the next visit.

All in all, a great little course (albeit 6K+ yards off the yellows), well maintained, with superb greens, I will definitely play here again!

Dennis Smith
Profile picture of Dennis Smith
Handicap: 32.4
PRO

The Heron Golf Club reviewed in Oct 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

In the wet

Last played it 40 years ago it was great then !!! and still is now,I may join this course ??

James Thornton
Profile picture of James Thornton
Handicap: 23.4

Cranham Golf Course reviewed in Oct 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Great course condition

Lovely course flat and open so great for the high handicapper like me. Not really any practice area other than a Astro putting green which is not close to like the greens. Course is in great condition though and the greens are excellent

Nigel Smith
Profile picture of Nigel Smith
Handicap: 20.0
PRO

Clandon Regis Golf Club reviewed in Oct 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Value for Money

Course Ok, but infrastructure needs attention.

Firstly, the entrance is off the A246 (Epsom Road) some sat navs, including mine, take you down Clandon Road and there is no entrance there, so be careful.
This was a Society Day - £62 - coffee & bacon roll, 18 holes and one course meal (lasagne, garlic bread and coffee) , which was a bit sparse, but you get what you pay for. Nice clubhouse, changing rooms and bar/restaurant area.
The course was in decent condition considering the rain there had been in the previous week. fairways well mown and greens surprisingly fast considering they were wet and the grass was not short. They must be like lightning in summer.
The way to both the 1st and especially the 10th need far better signposting. As do the way to some tee boxes from the previous green. No printed course planners available and no map signs on the tee box to show the hole pictorially. The latter is a big negative in my opinion. My Bushnell did not pick up the course and I was not the only one with that problem. Garmins worked OK.
I'd play it again now I know how to get there and my way around.

Duane 'The Rock' Cleaver
Profile picture of Duane 'The Rock' Cleaver
Handicap: 17.5
PRO

Royal Blackheath Golf Club reviewed in Oct 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Good Course

Considering the wind and how cold it had turned for the day a good day of golf. Have to say the greens are fast and in great condition. Tee boxes OK too. Only frustration, please put some sand in the bunkers. Also for visitors could do with some more arrows pointing you to the next tee box.

Lee Kyprian
Profile picture of Lee Kyprian
Handicap: 26.8
PRO

The Shire London reviewed in Oct 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

The Shire, great track, amazing greens

This is a good course, nice layout, not too long, and once you get your eye once I am sure a return to the course will be even more enjoyable. Some of the Par 5s were harder than the stroke index said, as a high handicapper I really enjoyed the course. I have played quite a few top UK courses and I can say the greens were immaculate, running over 10 easily and the best I have played in many years.

David Lean
Profile picture of David Lean
Handicap: 30.0
Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Really enjoyable course.

Nice parkland course. Greens were in great condition. Good challenge of both wide and medium tight fairways. Pro shop staff very friendly as were the clubhouse staff. Driving range is available to warm up. Food good - enjoyed a cooked breakfast. Green fees not to bad.

Gary ' Gazza' Wilson
Profile picture of Gary  ' Gazza' Wilson
Handicap: 19.9
PRO

The Shire London reviewed in Oct 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Great course but im bias !

Always enjoy playing Seve's course and even in cooler weather with the ball not travelling as far. Greens were like ice, great challenge and different challenges on ea hole. I was taking 3h off some tees to see if i could keep the ball on the fairways. Would always come back to The Shire dependant on price. Recommend it if you have not played it. Watch out for the S bend water feature on 18...