Most Recent Course Reviews

John Donaldson
Profile picture of John Donaldson
Handicap: 9.0
PRO

Foxhills Golf Club reviewed in Oct 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Some spot!!

Returned to play at Foxhills after my initial round was rained off a few months ago. Managed to join 3 lads and make up a 4 ball. Course had just had the fairways sanded which meant some shots were being played with a large amount of sand under your ball. Made it a bit Micky Mouse at times. Otherwise the course we played - The Longcross - was great. Challenging holes and a bit tighter course than the other Bernard Hunt one. Had a good game with only a few mishaps on the way round.

Great practice facilities and a nice atmosphere in the clubhouse. It caters for the tennis club and also the health and fitness club. Busy place.

Maybe a bit pricey but I was using the voucher I won from The Social Golfer so I was quids in!!

May go back . . . . .if I can get a deal!!

Ian Mullins
Profile picture of Ian Mullins
Handicap: 18.6
PRO

Hendon Golf Club reviewed in Oct 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Pretty Parkland Course...

Hendon Golf Club in North London is a well-established golf course designed by five-time OPEN Champion J H Taylor and Harry Vardon.

On arrival, the Clubhouse is welcoming and the staff are friendly. In addition, there is a large veranda overlooking the 18th Green on which to enjoy a coffee before you play.

The course itself is fairly flat and has plenty of space to play, meaning the course is forgiving for higher handicappers. However, with greens as quick as anywhere I've played this year, beware!

The course is compact, and therefore easy to walk between holes, and there is a good combination of hole designs to keep you coming back for more. Some of the Par 3's are tricky, with small landing areas, so bring your short game, if you want to score well.

We played on a sunny day in September and you would have no idea you were just a few miles from the centre of London's great metropolis.

Alas, we didn't have time to sample the Clubhouse food but perhaps we'll save this for the next visit.

All in all, a great little course (albeit 6K+ yards off the yellows), well maintained, with superb greens, I will definitely play here again!

Dennis Smith
Profile picture of Dennis Smith
Handicap: 27.7
PRO

The Heron Golf Club reviewed in Oct 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

In the wet

Last played it 40 years ago it was great then !!! and still is now,I may join this course ??

James Thornton
Profile picture of James Thornton
Handicap: 23.3
PRO

Cranham Golf Course reviewed in Oct 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Great course condition

Lovely course flat and open so great for the high handicapper like me. Not really any practice area other than a Astro putting green which is not close to like the greens. Course is in great condition though and the greens are excellent

Nigel Smith
Profile picture of Nigel Smith
Handicap: 20.0
PRO

Clandon Regis Golf Club reviewed in Oct 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Value for Money

Course Ok, but infrastructure needs attention.

Firstly, the entrance is off the A246 (Epsom Road) some sat navs, including mine, take you down Clandon Road and there is no entrance there, so be careful.
This was a Society Day - £62 - coffee & bacon roll, 18 holes and one course meal (lasagne, garlic bread and coffee) , which was a bit sparse, but you get what you pay for. Nice clubhouse, changing rooms and bar/restaurant area.
The course was in decent condition considering the rain there had been in the previous week. fairways well mown and greens surprisingly fast considering they were wet and the grass was not short. They must be like lightning in summer.
The way to both the 1st and especially the 10th need far better signposting. As do the way to some tee boxes from the previous green. No printed course planners available and no map signs on the tee box to show the hole pictorially. The latter is a big negative in my opinion. My Bushnell did not pick up the course and I was not the only one with that problem. Garmins worked OK.
I'd play it again now I know how to get there and my way around.

Duane 'The Rock' Cleaver
Profile picture of Duane 'The Rock' Cleaver
Handicap: 22.1
PRO

Royal Blackheath Golf Club reviewed in Oct 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Good Course

Considering the wind and how cold it had turned for the day a good day of golf. Have to say the greens are fast and in great condition. Tee boxes OK too. Only frustration, please put some sand in the bunkers. Also for visitors could do with some more arrows pointing you to the next tee box.

Lee Kyprian
Profile picture of Lee Kyprian
Handicap: 27.0
PRO

The Shire London reviewed in Oct 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

The Shire, great track, amazing greens

This is a good course, nice layout, not too long, and once you get your eye once I am sure a return to the course will be even more enjoyable. Some of the Par 5s were harder than the stroke index said, as a high handicapper I really enjoyed the course. I have played quite a few top UK courses and I can say the greens were immaculate, running over 10 easily and the best I have played in many years.

David Lean
Profile picture of David Lean
Handicap: 19.2
Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Really enjoyable course.

Nice parkland course. Greens were in great condition. Good challenge of both wide and medium tight fairways. Pro shop staff very friendly as were the clubhouse staff. Driving range is available to warm up. Food good - enjoyed a cooked breakfast. Green fees not to bad.

Gary ' Gazza' Wilson
Profile picture of Gary  ' Gazza' Wilson
Handicap: 20.1
PRO

The Shire London reviewed in Oct 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Great course but im bias !

Always enjoy playing Seve's course and even in cooler weather with the ball not travelling as far. Greens were like ice, great challenge and different challenges on ea hole. I was taking 3h off some tees to see if i could keep the ball on the fairways. Would always come back to The Shire dependant on price. Recommend it if you have not played it. Watch out for the S bend water feature on 18...

John Gibbons
Profile picture of John Gibbons
Handicap: 34.0
PRO

Brentwood Golf Club reviewed in Oct 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Enjoyable

The pro shop is small. Club house food was good quality and value. The tees were good but one was closed. Fairways were good but had an issue with leaves. Bunkers were generally good but some were a bit hard. One greenside bunker was being refurbished with new sand by a dumper & JCB which held us up during the play of the hole. The greens were covered with airation holes that made putting a bit of a lottery for longer puts.

James Thornton
Profile picture of James Thornton
Handicap: 23.3
PRO

Dunton Hills Golf Course reviewed in Oct 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Good layout but poorly maintained greens

Nice and challenging course but the greens are very poor. Lack of tee times meant we were backed up and slow from the get go at 7.30

Paul Houghton
Profile picture of Paul Houghton
Handicap: 16.7
PRO

West Malling Golf Club reviewed in Oct 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Nicely surprised!

To be honest I was not expecting to enjoy West Malling as much as I did. I was attending Marky Marks Charity event, so knew I would have good time. I had received poor comments on the Hurricane course, so was not expecting much at all.
I played 27 holes on the Hurricane and thoroughly enjoyed it. The course is pretty flat and I'd describe it as parkland. The Tee boxes, bunkers and greens were all in good order. The Fairways were also lush as we had had such a wet July.
The club house and facilities sufficed, the staff were friendly. The only down side was the cost of the buggy...£30
All in all, I really enjoyed West Malling and would definitely play it again.

Angelo Albera
Profile picture of Angelo Albera
Handicap: 12.1
PRO

Nazeing Golf Club reviewed in Oct 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Great course

Nice course with a good mix of holes, greens in great conditions running fast and true.
Good pace of play

'JB' John Barber
Profile picture of 'JB' John Barber
Handicap: 16.8
PRO

Chesham & Ley Hill Golf Club reviewed in Oct 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Tight(ish)Fantastic

Tree lined - was warned that I should leave the driver at home as it was a tight tree lined course. To be honest was not looking forward to round that much....

....glad I took the driver, and yes, it is a tight(ish) course, and well worth a visit. It's a members club and for the resources they have it's a lovely place to visit. Give it a go if you get the chance.

John Donaldson
Profile picture of John Donaldson
Handicap: 9.0
PRO

Salgados Golf Club reviewed in Oct 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Lots of water!!

Played Salgados a couple of times on a recent golf event with my military mates.

Nice clubhouse . . .couple of issues with the tee time on the first round but all okay on the second visit.

There is a lot of water . . .on about 16 of the 18 holes!! So you need to work your way round carefully and not blast a driver on every hole!! It is a challenge but a nice course down near the sea.

Was handy as it was only 10 minutes from our hotel so easy to get to.

Would come back and play it again.

John Donaldson
Profile picture of John Donaldson
Handicap: 9.0
PRO

Morgado Golf Club reviewed in Oct 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Nice course . . .but in the middle of nowhere!!

Played Morgado whilst on a golfing week with my military lads.

It took us an hour to get there from our hotel and to be honest the course and its sister course, Alamos, are very remote indeed. They seem characterless and a funny atmosphere at them. Some nice views, and the clubhouse was okay but nothing spectacular.

The fairways were dry as a bone and completely scorched in places. I think they have no watering system in place and only water the greens and tee boxes to keep them green.

If this was not part of the golf package then I would not be rushing back here to play. Better courses in the area for similar money.


John Donaldson
Profile picture of John Donaldson
Handicap: 9.0
PRO

Mannings Heath Golf Club reviewed in Oct 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Great course

Played here on the 6th of October. It is a very hilly course but a definite must play if you are in the area.
Great clubhouse although I was told that it has reduced in size due to the upstairs being taken over to accommodate the wine growing project that is ongoing there.

Good course layout and I enjoyed playing it. Lovely views on some of the holes.

Greens were a little slow but was told that they had been hollow tynned recently . . They were really slow indeed compared to my own clubs greens.

Overall a great round on a great course. It was that good that I am back there tomorrow for another round . . .and this time at least I will know where I am going!!

Pete Mayo
Profile picture of Pete Mayo
Handicap: 20.3
PRO

Crewe Golf Club reviewed in Oct 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Interesting course

The first half of the course is quite hilly as a result of craters left from WWII bombing. I thought the fairways and greens were good, especially considering the heavy rain of the past few days. Mostly wide fairways, some of which cross each other. Some tees and greens are quite close. I liked the course and would happily return. Very good club house.

Peter Hogan
Profile picture of Peter Hogan
Handicap: 27.4

Glynneath Golf Club reviewed in Oct 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Great course and superb views of the brecons

Great course well maintained fairways and greens, plus superb views of the brecons.

Pete Mayo
Profile picture of Pete Mayo
Handicap: 20.3
PRO
Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Hawkstone course is great

Can’t comment on the championship course but Hawkstone was is great condition - much better than most after the recent deluge. A little bit hilly but great tree lined fairways, bunkers with sand and consistent greens. Great clubhouse. I didn’t use the practice facilities but they looked fine.

Lee Kyprian
Profile picture of Lee Kyprian
Handicap: 27.0
PRO

Farleigh Golf Club reviewed in Sep 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Farleigh, a course with a variety of holes

Pleasantly surprised, very good practice facilities and Club House. 27 hole course and would recommend playing all of them. Greens in good nick. Overall pretty good golfing experience.

John Fussey
Profile picture of John Fussey
Handicap: 18.4

Uxbridge Golf Course reviewed in Sep 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Time and money needs spending here.

If only more time and money was spent on the upkeep of this challenging & lovely course.
Greens where in bad condition and the whole place needed tidying up.
Still great value for the money to get some practice in.
I will return.

Gary ' Gazza' Wilson
Profile picture of Gary  ' Gazza' Wilson
Handicap: 20.1
PRO
Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Great links course and not far from the garden of england

Played with Duane who is the member and Steve H, really liked the course, tight on some holes and not easy to find your ball too... met an old mate who is the marshall and he said "keep it on the fairway" he wasnt wrong.
Clubhouse was great friendly staff, and id definitely venture north again to play at this great links course. Some of the greens had more twists than Chubby Checker

John Smith
Profile picture of John Smith
Handicap: 25.4
PRO

Dunston Hall Golf Club reviewed in Sep 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

enjoyable

this was a society weekend i found the course challenging but enjoyable it was in very good condition. the greens were true and fast,if you hit straight no real problems, but need course management, as there is a fair amount of water and some deep bunkers. the accommodation is of a good standard but the dinner menu was limited. i would stay and play again

Gwen Bowers
Profile picture of Gwen Bowers
Handicap: 36.0
PRO

Pedham Place Golf Centre reviewed in Sep 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Bit of rain would help

Course in good Nick bit dry in places wish staff great as usual / driving range 1st why I why is it not the same on the course !!

Gwen Bowers
Profile picture of Gwen Bowers
Handicap: 36.0
PRO

Corinthian Golf Club reviewed in Sep 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Value to money

Out with Steve playing this hidden gem course was in great condition greens super fast well worth a visit

Anthony Banister
Profile picture of Anthony Banister
Handicap: 14.1
PRO

Maylands Golf & Country Club reviewed in Sep 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Greens

Greens looking a bit poorly

Steve 'The Power' Slater
Profile picture of Steve 'The Power' Slater
Handicap: 15.1
PRO

Mill Hill Golf Club reviewed in Sep 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Well established parkland.

Quirky location, clubhouse left side of A1, first tee on right side of A1. Accessible via underpass and a stroll.
Clubhouse/pro shop most welcoming.
Course in tip top condition, fabulous greens(very tricky though). Some feature holes and all presenting their own challenge. Lots of clever hazards, bunkers were difficult, not a lot of sand and first cut wasn't overly friendly.

A few elevation changes but still not a bad walking course. The halfway house was welcome on quite a sultry day.

All in all a rather splendid adventure, requiring a degree of course management. Easy to lose a few balls here.

Ian Coe
Profile picture of Ian Coe
Handicap: 24.1
PRO

Cheshunt Park Golf Club reviewed in Sep 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Loved the course

First time playing it, challenging course, will be returning

John Donaldson
Profile picture of John Donaldson
Handicap: 9.0
PRO

Westport Golf Club reviewed in Sep 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Great track!!!

I played 3 rounds around Westport GC which is located just outside the town of Westport in County Mayo in the west of Ireland.
A superb course which is very demanding indeed. Lots of long holes which are a severe test . . .a par 5 stroke index 18 is a bit of a beast!!
Superb views out to sea on the back 9 and a refreshing few drinks in the clubhouse that overlooks the course again with some stunning views. The scene out to Croagh Patrick is a great sight to be scene as you play up the par 3 15th.
So well looked after by all the staff and a course that I can thoroughly recommend to play if you ever end up in that area.

Neil Fagg
Profile picture of Neil  Fagg
Handicap: 27.3
PRO

Surrey Downs Golf Club reviewed in Sep 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Very nice course

Very nice course, lots of tees where you can't see the green. Greens in very good condition with lots of undulations. Would happily play here again

Andy Benson
Profile picture of Andy Benson
Handicap: 28.6
PRO

Bowring Park Golf Course reviewed in Sep 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Friendly game of golf

This is an excellent course for the price you pay. I would highly recommend this course. Lovely bar onsite that does food and drinks.

Mardyke Valley Golf Club reviewed in Sep 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

much improved greens

Haven't played here in a few years,,, the fairways and tee boxes still a little below expectations at £25 for the round. But the greens so much improved, for a change you could hold the greens with approach play and ran quite nicely. Didn't use the practice areas at all so cannot comment on these, and didn't use the clubhouse other than paying, but it looks as it did previously which is quite nice with a decent outside seating area.
Fairways very tufty and at times little grass visible, causing a few issues with seconds shots being easier from the first cut of rough than the fairways

David Jacobs
Profile picture of David  Jacobs
Handicap: 22.0
PRO

Desert Springs Golf Resort reviewed in Sep 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Value for Money

Stunning

Stunning desert golf cactus and sand everywhere, fairways superb, tee boxes immaculate, greens Axminster carpets

Stuart Smith
Profile picture of Stuart Smith
Handicap: 27.5
PRO

West Malling Golf Club reviewed in Sep 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Great course

Course in good condition and well maintained

Paul Houghton
Profile picture of Paul Houghton
Handicap: 16.7
PRO

Bletchingley Golf Club reviewed in Sep 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Challenging Parkland Adventure

I have played Bletchingley a few times now, it is always a challenge. Not short nearly 6200 yards off the yellows. The 5 par fives also make it very important that you get off well the tee. Having said that, you must be straight as the fairways can be tight, they are sloping and a seeming straight shot can end up under a tree. The par threes are mainly circa 150 yards though one is over 200 yards!
The greens run true, but were hard to hold. The tees were disappointing, a bit over grown and uneven. The bunkers looked well maintained but I only visited one. I would have scored the course higher, but the tees let it down. There are many blind approach shots, so its of benefit to know exactly where the green is?
The club house is nice but is often hosting other events other than golf. So it is shared with the community.
There is an external kiosk which sells food and drinks. The refreshments are expensive. As are the buggy's at an eye watering £35! Which I felt was a bit much for a disabled player. The buggy's are a well used, ours had brake issues. The food was ok but I would only score it as average.
As my visit was part the TSG Open I had a great experience, I'm not sure if I'd have felt it was value for money on a random visit.
I would return to Bletchingley but only to attend an arranged event.

Martin Brown
Profile picture of Martin Brown
Handicap: 19.9
PRO

Three Rivers Golf Club reviewed in Sep 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

A tranquil Essex gem

I found Three Rivers to be a well kept, scenic parkland course with few undulations, the exception being the hilly 13th par 5 which rises to give great views across the river Crouch estuary. On the day we played there was plentyfull evidence of ground staff undertaking maintenance and general up keep although their presence didn't hamper our progress. The greens were interesting and had been spiked very recently although only slightly adversely affected my putting. The Tees were the only down point for the course, most were either small, non flat or gouged but this seems to be the norm for a great many of my recently played south Essex courses. The fairways were very evenly grassed, not too short or long, just perfect for sweeping away a non hindered 5 iron or fairway hybrid. The non flat/blind holes had target poles truly situated for the perfect shot to be played. The bunkers were composed of lovely fluffy sand which made the escape from them easy, although very easy to deeply plug a towering short iron short, as I discovered. There are a few small water features doted around the course though most don't really come into play, although there's a larger one which protects the 3rd par 5 green should you try to enter the green for two shots. Overall I found this a peaceful enjoyable course to play with no backround noise of cars on the M25/A12/A127 that I usually hear when playing in Havering or screeching aero engines overhead trying to climb out City airport. The club house was vast and very welcoming, even being allowed into an area set aside purely for members to relax in thick leather sofas to down our refreshment. Our green fee for the day was a spectacular £15 as one of our members secured some vouchers, otherwise it would have cost £40. Definitely a course I'd want to return for another game, especially if it comes in at £15, happy days.

Lee Kyprian
Profile picture of Lee Kyprian
Handicap: 27.0
PRO

West Essex Golf Club reviewed in Aug 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Essex course worth playing, its a lovely course

Was not too sure what to expect as some courses in Essex are fairly average, this does rank higher. After 2 holes I was admiring the views, tree lines and then the course started to just get better. Overall very enjoyable, and would definitely go back. Some quirky holes, and in places it was a good golfing venue. If you have not played here and you live in Essex, you need to.

Martin Kelly
Profile picture of Martin Kelly
Handicap: 11.4
PRO

Stapleford Abbotts Golf Club reviewed in Aug 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Not in good ni k

I've played here many times over the years and at the moment, it's the worst I've seen it. Fairways aren't actually too bad, but the greens? So not good.

Pete Mayo
Profile picture of Pete Mayo
Handicap: 20.3
PRO

Mile End Golf Club reviewed in Aug 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Pretty course in good condition

Strange looking back: The course was in good condition (taking into account the recent downpours). Tree lined fairways; quite wide and mown as well as they could be. But no spectacular holes that spring to mind. Everything was good. Friendly staff, driving range on site (£4 for 55 balls).

Alan Haywood
Profile picture of Alan Haywood
Handicap: 20.7
PRO

Risebridge Golf Centre reviewed in Aug 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Time for an update

Risebridge has been transformed, thanks mainly to its new(ish) head green keeper Dougie, a Scot who learned his trade at the Royal and Ancient. Greens generally, are the best in Essex at least…although one or two still suffer from years of neglect, but being work in progress, they are improving. Bunkers are not the best in Essex but this is also being addressed., Fairways are very good considering many are undulating and not specially laid, but they are cut regularly and your ball should sit up nicely, anywhere on the fairway. Not a long course, but several very challenging holes and with full width ditches on several holes, ball placement becomes a very serious consideration. Large mounds made from the Olympic stadium spill, separate most fairways, providing a feeling of isolation, but if your ball lands on the top of one, it is usually ball lost, as they have been allowed to grow as a wildlife sanctuary. These are red staked so a ball drop at the base of the mound, is your punishment for a wayward shot. Midweek green fees are very good value for money. An excellent full English breakfast is available and there are buggy’s for hire. A small but excellent putting green and an excellent, refurbed driving range with good quality range balls are also available, as is a small but fully stocked Pro Shop. As a pay and play, with bags of parking, you cannot beat it IMHO.

Steve Devine
Profile picture of Steve Devine
Handicap: 18.0
PRO

West Essex Golf Club reviewed in Aug 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

This is a top course always maintained well

West Essex Golf Course in Chingford E4 is an 18 hole Parkland Course on undulating land. The front nine is quite hilly and tight the back nine more open and flat but watch out for the last few holes they will test your fitness. Excellent condition with fairways like carpets and fast greens. Nice views of the City skyscrapers from the elevated tees. Clubhouse has everything for the hungry and thirsty golfer and quality changing room/ shower facilities. If you haven’t played it you won’t be disappointed.

Paul Houghton
Profile picture of Paul Houghton
Handicap: 16.7
PRO

Frinton Golf Club reviewed in Aug 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Frinton is a sea side course linkish

I'd been looking forward to playing at Frinton Golf Club for many years. It's a step up from Clacton and does not seem to be as overplayed as Clacton tends to be in the summer.

The deal we had as a society was £46 with a meal, which I thought was ok. The buggy was £30 pounds if I remember rightly. The course is situated a stone's throw from the beach, some of the views are really good. This course is very flat. Of course there's is a prevailing wind, which there always is at seaside courses when the tide changes.

With a slope rating of 125, it's not what I'd call a tough course, but you really need to know where you are going to score well. The course measures in at a little under 6,000 yards (off the yellows) so not short by any means. The fairways are generous, and in good order, but the greens a tad slow.

The big disappointment for me was the ditches, there are quite a few, not easy to spot but bloody easy to find. Laying up for them is an art!

The Clubhouse is very traditional, and the staff were friendly and accommodating and the food was good.

It's a long drive, but on a nice day can be picturesque.

I'd like to have scored it higher than I have, but it sort of fell short in some respects. Maybe I expected too much?

I will play it again....and maybe I'll be better at laying up for those ditches!

Steve 'The Power' Slater
Profile picture of Steve 'The Power' Slater
Handicap: 15.1
PRO

West Malling Golf Club reviewed in Aug 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Tree lined - hurricane course

Bit of a trek but pleasant drive. Easy to find course, well established clubhouse and pro shop pity it was closed after the event. The course was in pretty good condition, greens I thought were a touch wooly. Clever use of topography and a busy road to cross. No really memorable feature holes just a good walking course, with a couple of elevation changes in need of a sherpa. Did a texas scramble in the morning and 18 holes after lunch. A long day and no balls lost.

Breakfast rolls OK, lunch could have had a few more calories and carvery dinner was OK.

Drive back in heavy rain was a bit of a challenge.

John Gibbons
Profile picture of John Gibbons
Handicap: 34.0
PRO

Risebridge Golf Centre reviewed in Aug 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Good course

Good course with a good mix of mostly wide and some narrow fairway. Fairways and greens are well maintained. Value for money. Golf Shop has only a few sets of clubs but we'll stocked with other items for sale at what seem good value. Bar has a good selection of beers and adequate menu to satisfy most golfers.

Pete Mayo
Profile picture of Pete Mayo
Handicap: 20.3
PRO

Malkins Bank Golf Course reviewed in Aug 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Cheap and busy

Very slow, but only £13. Fairly flat, ok condition, and lots of trees. If you can hit the ball straight you can score well. You don’t need to be long.

Anthony Banister
Profile picture of Anthony Banister
Handicap: 14.1
PRO

Stapleford Abbotts Golf Club reviewed in Aug 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Poor quality greens and bunkers

I suppose not bad value for money but greens and bunkers let it down badly, won’t be going back until I hear they’ve sorted it all out

Anthony Banister
Profile picture of Anthony Banister
Handicap: 14.1
PRO

West Essex Golf Club reviewed in Aug 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Top draw

Excellent

Ian Mullins
Profile picture of Ian Mullins
Handicap: 18.6
PRO

West Essex Golf Club reviewed in Aug 2023

Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Mature and pretty...

West Essex Golf Club is a course I've wanted to play for a long time, and it was well worth the wait!

Tucked away from the madding crowds of northeast London with views overlooking Canary Wharf and the West End of London, this course has it all.

With beautiful fairways, testing Greens, and a varied layout, this course is a must for everyone in the area.

The Clubhouse is modern and light with friendly staff.

In addition, Jamie in the PRO shop couldn't have been more welcoming.

He advised me on the best way to approach the course as someone who had not played it before and told me where not to use the driver!

The course is very well maintained with pretty tee boxes and lush fairways.

However, it's a tale of two halves. The front 9 is tight and requires straight drives. But the back nine opens up, giving a little more forgiveness to the higher handicapper.

Not overly long, the course is very walkable (with some inclines) but watch out for "Cardiac Hill" on the 18th hole!

Primarily a 'Members' Club, I played at Guest rates (£35) which was very reasonable.

'JB' John Barber
Profile picture of 'JB' John Barber
Handicap: 16.8
PRO
Clubhouse/Hospitality
Quality of Course
Practice Facilities
Value for Money

Two excellent courses - but.....

Two great courses. The Earls is the tougher of them as it is tighter. The Kings is more forgiving, as long as you stay away from the water.

All in all they are in excellent condition and play well, but -

Why oh, why is there such a lack of direction and marking of what the tee is when you get to it. There are some signs that direct you to the next tee, but when you actually get there, there are distance discs in the ground, but no signs stating what the hole number is, without a DMD, you would be forgiven on the odd occasion for perhaps playing the wrong hole!

That's the gripe out of the way - now for the important bit, 'would you play it again' - absolutely, the Kings most definitely (played today in drizzle in a buggy and loved it), and the Earls would be better in a buggy.